A Million Miles… Review

October 8, 2009 at 3:28 pm (Uncategorized)

I read a lot of books. I LOVE reading. It is one of the ways I stretch my mind and explore new ideas and thoughts. It is one of the ways I stay fresh in my thinking. And the book I just finished was no exception. This book has literally changed the way I think about life, and has re-adjusted my vernacular. You need to read “A Million Miles in a Thousand Years” by Don Miller.

Here’s the skinny:

Don Miller is an author who got the rare opportunity to co-write a screenplay of his life. As he learns more and more about what makes a successful movie, and deeper still, a successful story, he realizes something profound. The principles that make a great story make a great life. Don realizes that he needs to write a better story for his life, which actually means allowing the Author to write a better story for him. This journey leads him to adventure, conflict, struggles and pain. But it also leads him to a better life story.

Don Miller is an author who, it seems, cannot not write a beautifully poetic sentence. That made this book a pleasure to read. It was entertaining, inspiring and humorous. I was captured by it.

Let me list some of the most profound ideas I am taking away from this book:

–Without stories, experiences are just random. I definitely don’t want to live a life of disjointed experiences, but I want to live a story, and share His story with my life and family.
–In chapter nine, Don recounts a story of family who saw a turnaround by intentionally telling a heroic story with their family. I want to place my children in the midst of a good story, and give them the role of the hero to play. This was by far the best chapter in the book. I read it out loud to my wife and we laughed and cried together.
–The essence of story is this: A character who wants something and overcomes conflict to get it. The deeper the ambition, the greater the conflict, and the more memorable the scenes the greater the story is.
–Here is the last paragraph, which sums it all up so beautifully:

“We live in a world where bad stories are told, stories that teach us life doesn’t mean anything and that humanity has no great purpose. It’s a good calling, then, to speak a better story. How brightly a better story shines. How easily the world looks to it in wonder. How grateful we are to hear these stories, and how happy it makes us to repeat them.”

This is by far the best book I have devoured lately. You need to read it. But you can’t borrow my copy. I like it too much. 🙂

Have you read it? Read anything else I need to check out?

2 Comments

  1. Sean McCarthy said,

    I HAVE to read this book! Donald Miller is my favorite author you know

    • billyjohnsonlive said,

      I know. It was AMAZING. It just came out last week or something like that.

Leave a Reply

