Changing Places

September 28, 2009 at 9:57 pm (Uncategorized)

I took a writing retreat day today.  When I hit brick walls and need a time of refreshing and refocusing, I have found I need to change my locale.  I know that if I went into my office this morning, I would have run into brick wall after brick wall.  As Mark Batterson is fond of saying, “change of place + change of pace=change of perspective”.  It is so true for me, and proved true today. As I left at 5:30 this morning, I had some scrambled ideas and random scriptures running through my brain.  As of now, I have 4 sermons almost completely done.

So where did I go?  That’s my secret. Ha.  But, just to make my Midwest friends jealous, I could hear the ocean’s constant roar, and smell salt in the air.

So, what do you do when you hit a brick wall?  What change/method do you use to help you get ‘er done?

3 Comments

  1. Jim said,

    It is very true, and those days away from the office are awesome… though I’m a little jealous about the salty air and ocean… but then again my last day out involved pine trees and mountains…. so you’ll hear no complaint from me… glad ya had a great day!

  2. Brien Sims said,

    Billy that was cold man… ocean’s roar. I too run and hide sometimes and people don’t seem to understand that I NEED that time.

    • billyjohnsonlive said,

      For me, I just find myself in a rut. Often a change of locale helps with that.

Leave a Reply

