Review: Principle of the Path

September 21, 2009 at 8:32 pm (Uncategorized)

This post is a book review for “The Principle of the Path” by Andy Stanley.  (Disclaimer:  YES!  I got the book free by agreeing to do this for Thomas Nelson, Inc. But they said I could write whatever I want!)

“How did I get HERE?”  This is a question that I hear often. ‘How did I find myself in an affair?’ ‘How did I ruin my family’s finances?’ ‘When did my kids become so rebellious?’  I mean, how many of us WANT or INTEND to find ourselves as a single parent or 30k in debt?  Yeah, none.  But people end up there all the time, regardless of intention.  So, how do we get from where we are to where we want to be in life? By following the “Principle of the Path”.

Stanley writes, “Our direction, not our intention, determines our destination.”  The decisions we make today affect the destinations we reach tomorrow. Simple?  Yeah. Obvious?  Should be. Adhered to?  Not often enough.

In “The Principle of the Path” Stanley combines Biblical truth with practical application and his famed story-telling ability to teach us all a lesson we desperately need to follow.  His book is well-written, poignant, and entertaining.  What I love most about this book is its wide appeal.  This book will be helpful to everyone.  From the unemployed single mom, to the CEO of a Fortune 500 company.  Stanley’s clear and insanely applicable teaching will be appealing to people in all of life’s circumstances.

I would recommend this book to every friend I have.  It would be worth your time and energy to devour these 200 pages.  Here’s the link for Amazon.

Leave a Reply

