Leader or Manager?

September 19, 2009 at 12:28 pm (Uncategorized)

**Quote Day**

Saw this quote over at Biblical Preaching, and thought I would share it with you. It is by Howard Hendricks, professor from Dallas Theological Seminary:

Ladies and Gentlemen, if I don’t spend time every day with my feet propped up on the desk, dreaming about what Yale ought to be, you need to fire me because I am no longer the leader of Yale – I am simply a pathetic manager of the institution.

I personally have seen and BEEN a manager far too often without providing the vision and direction for the future.

So, what do you think?  Where have you seen this true?  Why?  How do we avoid?

3 Comments

  1. Peter Mead said,

    Thanks for the link – just to clarify, Hendricks was never president of Yale, but was quoting him. He has always been a very highly respected prof at Dallas Theological Seminary.

    Warmly,

    Peter

    • billyjohnsonlive said,

      You know, somewhere in the recesses of my brain, I knew something didn’t sound quite right. Thanks.

  2. Jim said,

    I think that we have to get out of the mode we (the church) have been in for the last two decades. Running the church like a business, with the pastor as CEO doesn’t work anymore… if it ever truly worked in the first place… We are called to “leaders,” not “managers,” and your right we’re all guilty of taking the “manager” path from time to time… thanks for the quote!

    Peace & Blessings to ya!

Leave a Reply

