Shadetree Mechanic?

August 19, 2009 at 6:38 pm (Uncategorized)

shadetree mechanicRecently in a conversation, the term “shadetree mechanic” came up.  (Which is a pretty sweet term!)The fella I was talking to mentioned that he used to fiddle and fool around with cars, (ie. shadetree mechanic) but in recent years decided that he was better off leaving that to the people who knew what they were doing and focus on more important things. (Funny note: at this man’s stage in life, one of those more important things was his golf game!)

This got me thinking about how many of us go around life as shadetree mechanics.  We focus our time, energy and effort on WAY too many things.  We spread ourselves so thin, do so many different things, that we don’t do any of them well.  One of the greatest leadership principles I am learning (but far from mastering) is that I need to decide the area where I am especially gifted and talented and focus there.  That way, my best can be best, and I can leverage all the potential God has given me.

Tony Morgan writes about this very principle in his book Killing Cockroaches, which I haven’t read yet, but will soon. (and from all accounts, you should too!)

So, fill in the blank:  I have allowed being a shadetree _________ distract me from focusing on my giftedness.

Leave a Reply

