DC Dads Group

June 25, 2009 at 1:49 pm (Uncategorized)

I was in DC last night.  At 5:30, I hopped in my truck, drove 70 minutes, spent 15 looking for a parking place (YIKES) and then another 10 walking to Ebenezers Coffeehouse.  I bought a cup of coffee and wandered around for a few minutes, seeing that I was a little early.

At 7:30, I was sitting in a small group of about a dozen guys led by Mark Batterson talking about how to be a good dad. (By the way, I have been a huge fan of Mark from a distance through his blog, twitter feed and books.  But up close, he is a real down to earth, authentic guy.)

Some of you (as well as some of the guys there) probably think I am crazy for driving and investing that kind of time for the next 5 weeks in this group.  (YES!  I know how much gas it will use!)  Here is why Roseann and I decided for me to do this:

  • I NEED to be in some sort of group of dudes that I am in no way leading.
  • We were taking a summer break from our local small groups anyway. So I had a normally tied up night free, and wasn’t cheating my family of normally open night.
  • I wanted to learn more about the discipleship covenant that Mark made with his son, Parker, when he turned 12. This kind of intentional discipleship is some I want to do with my kids, and want to teach at DCC.
  • My kids knowing and loving Jesus is the most important goal of my life.  They are Roseann and my legacy, and come before anything else.  Nothing is ever TOO MUCH to make sure they get there.

So, anyway, I am pumped and excited to be a part of this short term group, and am looking forward to allowing God to teach me some great things about being a dad.

Help me with my homework for the group.  Here is the question: WHAT DOES SUCCESS AS A DAD LOOK LIKE?

4 Comments

  1. Helen said,

    “My kids knowing and loving Jesus is the most important goal of my life. They are Roseann and my legacy, and come before anything else. Nothing is ever TOO MUCH to make sure they get there.”

    Although all that you have expressed here is “AMEN!” , this particular one is the one that kicks me when I get complacent. There is no greater testimony than our children remaining faithful to Christ because of our authentic faith. Authentic faith breeds authentic faith (I know there are exceptions to every rule.) Even in our imperfection… our kids are the ones who see us as we really are. They know if it is “Reality or Reputation… =) ”
    A lot of parents think they cannot admit their mistakes or ask forgiveness of their children when they are wrong…but this is actually the key. My girls never cease to expect that from me and they know I am not the “perfect” Christ-follower I desire to be…but they know I am trying and when push comes to shove I chose God…what He requires…what He desires…and what He tells me is the right way.

    You and Roseann are a light to your generation. Continue on….

  2. culturalawakening said,

    I have wondered about this very same question. My definition of success has for so long been flawed that I have had to force my brain to think of success in different ways. Originally for me success was making money, having a nice car, nice house, prestige and fame. All the basics you know. I’m starting to realize that this definition of success may be too limited.

    When I define success as a dad specifically, I talk about what it means for my kids to first and foremost growing up and loving God. If my kids don’t do that, at some level in my opinion I have failed. I know some kids are naturally rebellious and may have their moments, but their overall love for God is what I’m concerned about. For my boys specifically, I want them to grow up and be men of integrity, respectful of women and those around them. If they do that, in my opinion, I have been successful. Success to me for my daughter is that she grows up being a person of integrity, compassionate and respectful, as well as finding herself a good man. Otherwise I have to have more sleepless nights. ha ha.

    I guess the earlier definition of success is too limited in my mind. It’s confining success to a box, to a temporary standard. The standards of prestige, of wealth, of cars, of home will all change. But my children growing up and impacting another generation that will impact another and another and another is far more eternal and far reaching than any car, house, dollar bill or speaking engagement will ever be. I still struggle with this at times. I’m a work-a-holic. I’m not perfect and am constantly reminding myself of that fact. But this is my definition of success as a dad.

    • billyjohnsonlive said,

      Mark Batterson on his blog today, reflecting a bit of the convo last night, defined success as “doing the best you can do with what you have where you are. Success equals stewardship.”

      Here’s the problem with defining success as “my kids loving God”: we have no control over it. In other words, at some point, they get to make their own choices. I really like thinking about success in terms of stewardship.

  3. WilliamRude said,

    Successful fathers have adult children who are not only in the church, but are leaders.
    Successful fathers have children that desire to be well educated.
    Successful fathers have children that care for their parents when they are old.
    Successful fathers have their children’s friends come to them for wisdom (advice).
    Successful fathers keep their promises.
    Successful fathers are also good husbands.

    Please add to this list!

Leave a Reply

