Delayed Obedience

May 7, 2009 at 11:23 am (Uncategorized)

“Delayed obedience is disobedience.”

That is a quote from a book I am in called Family Driven Faith. I have been considering, in the realm of my kids, and in the realm of my Father, ‘first-time obedience!’  I have been a “counter” (you know, ‘Tori, go clean your room. One, two, three.”)  But what I have been realizing is that when I count, I teach my kids they don’t have to obey when I ask them to do something, they only have to obey when I am getting close to three.

Here’s the deal: God doesn’t count.  He expects first-time obedience.  Just ask Jonah!  And isn’t that the goal of a Christ-following parent: to teach their children to live in a submitted relationship to Christ? So, we have a new and improved phrase floating around the Johnson house: “Yes Dad, I will obey, right away, with a good attitude!”  It is easier to enforce, though, when I am saying, “Yes, Father, I will obey, right away, with a good attitude!”

Any advice/thoughts/stories for me?

3 Comments

  1. william fuller said,

    Wow that is so true… my kids do wait till i get to the punch line or the dreaded number… and not when i ask them to….. i had never thought of it as in obedience to God.

    Thanks i will be praying about this for sure.

    • billyjohnsonlive said,

      Pray for me in this area too! More than anything, I want to be a reflection of God in the lives of my family members! 1 Cor 11:7!

  2. Kathy said,

    When I was growing up, my parents always expected me to obey immediatley. If I didn’t, there were grave consequences. I never understood why they had those expectations (obeying immediately wasn’t the only one), and I questioned that as a young parent. I just thought I had mean parents. But I know why now, and I’m glad I’ve had others help me along the way. We have so many books and publications that explain why the good choices are good.

Leave a Reply

