“Wild Goose Chase” by Mark Batterson

April 6, 2009 at 9:00 am (Uncategorized)

I recently finished reading Wild Goose Chase by Mark Batterson.  Here are my MVP quotes  from the book:

–  “The best I can do is not the best I can do!  The best I can do is the best God can do”

– To show awesome grace: “Love someone when they least expect it and least deserve it!”

– “Sometimes our plans have to fail in order for God’s plans to succeed.” (grrr…I don’t like this one)

– “You cannot be overly ambitious for the things of God!”

– “Christ-followers ought to be the most passionate people on the planet.  Pursuing God-ordained passions isn’t optional.”

– “God has already spoken!  Quit praying and start acting.”

– “Faith isn’t logical.  It isn’t illogical either.  Faith is theological.  It doesn’t ignore reality; it just adds God into the equation.” (Probably my fave quote)

– Huge danger: “Learning HOW and forgetting WHY.”

-“True guilt comes from unconfessed sin.  False guilt comes from confessed sin.  Both dull your spiritual sense of adventure.”

– “Nothing is as freeing as confessed sin.  Nothing is as isolating as a guilty secret.”

One thing I LOVE about Batterson’s writing is that he quotes others SO much.  Here are my two fave quotes from others in Wild Goose Chase:

-“Some want to live within the sound of church or chapel bell; I want to run a rescue shop within a yard of hell.” C.T. Studd

-“Your worst days are never so bad that you are beyond the reach of His grace.  And your best days are never so good that you are beyond the need of God’s grace.  Every day should be a day of relating to God on the basis of His grace alone.”  Jerry Bridges

So, which one do like/hate?  What have you been reading lately? What do you recommend?  Yes, you who have been lurking, reading, and NOT responding!  I WANT to hear from you!

1 Comment

  1. Kathy P said,

    I like the one that says “the best I can do is not the best I can do…” and “sometimes our plans have to fail…”

    I heard this morning in our devotional time at school that when we’re in a situation that may lead to sin, we need to NOT say I shouldn’t but we HAVE to say I can’t. 1 John says “No one who is born of God will continue to sin,…he cannot go on sinning.

    Have a terrific day in the Lord!

Leave a Reply

