Neck Brace, Please!

March 23, 2009 at 4:03 pm (Uncategorized)

So, I took a little time off this morning to teach my brother how to drive a stick shift car.  Yikes.  I have been jerked all around Denton this morning, but he got the hang of it.

It got me thinking back to the time when  I learned to drive a manual.  I was so bad.  I would kill it, jerk it, rev it all over the place.  But I kept doing it. And now it is so natural that it took me a few minutes to figure out how to explain it to him.

Here’s the lesson: the first step is always the hardest.

Prayer life non-exisistent? The first few weeks are the hardest.

Marriage crumbling?  The first steps toward a turn-around are the most difficult.

Need to mend a broken friendship? Having that first conversation is the most difficult.

The first step is the hardest.  But soon, we become naturals. (DISCLAIMER: This works in the negative too.  Check out this post)

So, what first step do you need to make today?

Leave a Reply

